Mens Prize Night Awards

Cavendish Elite Golfers

The finale of the 2017 Cavendish Competition Season recogniseded the achievements of the club’s most successful golfers. Jeff Haddon acted as master of ceremonies and Mr Captain, Mike Watson, presented the prizes.

Photos were courtesy of Pat Campbell

The most successful golfer by far was Aaron Woodward, who won no fewer than five trophies and was praised by many of the other golfers for his amazing success during the year. Aaron won the Winter League (DIV1), Steve Doyle-Davidson Trophy, Scratch Cup, Aggregate Cup and the Cavendish Masters!

A truly magnificent achievement.


Most improved golfer prize went to Matt Clayton

Neil Flynn won the Palace Trophy and Captain Elect Malcolm Forder won the Henriques Memorial Bowl


Garry Nicholson won Captain’s Prize and has reduced his handicap from 13 to 9 during the season.
Robert Forder won the Basil Darbyshire Trophy


Gary Cannon won the Cotton Trophy and the Winter League (Div 2), but also won the Foursomes Knockout with partner Aaron Bothomley – brilliant achievement.

Gary Morgan and Anthony Lownds won the Bakewell Trophy

Yeh, yeh Aaron again …

Kevin Bloor won the Gadley Cup; Neil Flynn and Chris Martin won then 4BBB Knockout

Once again Steve Whalley and partner Hilary Whatmnore won the Mixed Knockout final.
Iain Kettles won the Cavendish Cup.


The following also won prizes:

T. Kotylo (visitor) won Chatsworth Bowl
Steve Hunter won the John Slater Putter
Lee Oakes won the Jubilee Cup
Matt Featherstone won the Devonshire Trophy
Nick Norton won the Buxton Trophy
Mike Higgins won the Henriques Putter
Mick Wain won the Seniors Cup (pushing Mr Captain into second place!!)
Chris Bell won the Mel Pye Trophy
Colin Pritchard won the Anniversary Cup

Mr Captain congratulated all the winners but he also thanked the vast majority of the club golfers who turn up and enter all the club competitions and only dream of getting their name immortalised on an honours board – in fact Mr Captain shared that he was in this category and was resigned to thinking the only way he will get on an honours board is to … sponsor one!

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.