Bridget Newell Trophy results

Yesterday, in the most atrocious of conditions that can be experienced at Cavendish, 47 pairs competed for the annual Bridget Newell Trophy. A Mixed 4BBB open to golfers who had travelled from far and wide to enjoy a day’s competitive golf at Cavendish.

The Trophy was inaugurated in memory of Bridget Newell.

In her short life Bridget became, at the age of 23, the youngest magistrate in England serving the Matlock area.

A proud member of Cavendish and an excellent golfer she, in her short golfing career, achieved many international honours. She was runner up in the 1936 British Ladies Amateur Championship and was favourite for the tournament the following year but died tragically shortly before the event at the age of 25.

This year’s event was won by Greg Mathers, a Cavendish member, and his partner Jade Jackson from Saddleworth Golf Club with a super score of 44 points.

Here is the full list of winners;

1st place – 44 points Greg Mathers (Cavendish) Jade Jackson (Saddleworth)

2nd place – 42 points Mike Higgins and Maxine Chuwen (Cavendish)

3rd place – 41 points Alan and Jane Smith (Trentham)

4th place – 40 points (CPO) Grant and Annette Nuttall (Lees Hall)

5th place – 40 points (CPO) John Russell (Cavendish) Heidi Spencer (Sickleholme)

6th place – 40 points (CPO) Reece Swain and Danielle Banks (Cavendish)



0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.